Sign up to our newsletter and get the latest deals!

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Welcome to our tropical paradise - with atmosphere served chilled and relaxed! Come in and listen to smooth tunes by the pool, surrounded by lush gardens. Meet new friends at Zanzibar Bar & Grill with free nightly entertainment. Cook in the communal kitchens or enjoy an Aussie BBQ. Learn more >

All hotels and hostels in: Australia, Cairns

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Best for...

Beds from $24

Calypso Inn Backpackers Resort

Category hostel

Cairns,

4.1 out of 5 (21 reviews)

Your thoughts:

  • Overall:

    4.5 ticks
  • Atmosphere4.5 ticks
  • Friendliness of Staff5 ticks
  • Location3.5 ticks
  • Cleanliness4 ticks
  • Facilities4 ticks
  • Safety and Security4.5 ticks
  • Value for Money4.5 ticks

Book now

Check Availability
e.g. Sep-25-2010

Or call 1.800.781.4040

From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Great Hostel

  • by Crinan Strachan
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 14 Apr 2012
Friendly atmosphere, great nightlife

Overall rating

4 ticks

Amazing atmosphere, and the happy hour(s!) were great!

  • by anon
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 24 Jan 2010
The bar and its multiple happy hours

Overall rating

5 ticks

Laid back & friendly hostel in prime location

  • by CHRIS
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 02 Dec 2009
extremely friendly staff who - upon you walking in - would address you by your name and ask how your day was, they treated you like a person and not a number. very relaxed and informal hostel, lots of fun and an excellent introduction to Australia. THANK YOU LOTS !!

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

expensive but friendly

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 21 Nov 2009
calypso was not good value for money...the good points include the pool which is tropical and very cold when you need a cool off,the bus into town which is very handy since town is a fair walk in the sun and the very friendly staff. The bad points outweigh the good... .nothing is included in the high price no free food,pool,tea,internet,trips,drink,laundry...nothing!! .the staffs rooms were right next to us and although a sign specifically said no noise after ten the staff kept us awake well into the early hours, every single night!! .we stayed over a week and our room was not cleaned once!!! .the bar only opens at half 6??no drink in the afternoon?? .your not allowed to bring drink inside...even though the bar is closed? .the showers need some work, they were nearly always cold .really bad music choices most of the time and no tv So yes go to this hostel if you want to be overcharged for a bed,communal bathrooms,no sleep and hundreds of dollars to spend on necessities that should be free.

Overall rating

5 ticks

Family environment with the added fun!

  • by Dominique
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 19 May 2009
When I arrived I was welcomed into the family as such. Everything I needed to know was explained on arriving, including the free bus shuttle into the centre of Cairns. I was escorted to my room and I felt that if there was anything that I needed to ask, that they would be more than willing to help how they could. I also enjoyed the fact that we could buy breakfast on site, as I am not one of those people who like to get up early, and the range of food was excellent. Overall I had an amazing time and would definitely go there again!

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

An amazing party atmosphere in the heart of Cairns at Calypso Inn

  • by Chris t
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 09 Dec 2008
The fantastic staff that are always there to give advice and make sure you have an amazing time. The hostel provides discounted tours which all the staff have been on, so can give you an accurate opinion of the best ones. The food is also great and at low prices. the rooms are clean with airconditioning. We had an amazing time here!

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

gepflegt, chilliges Backpackers Inn

  • by Patrizia
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Switzerland
  • 18 Oct 2010
nettes Personal, gute Location

Overall rating

4 ticks

Calypso Inn in Cairns

  • by Minjie
  • male
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 15 Oct 2010
Good Location.

Overall rating

5 ticks

A sweet and kind place

  • by MALI
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 21 Jul 2010
The staff was very kind and informative. They know about the trips and the area really well. The bar area is a great place to hang out and meet people. They have some fun events going on almost every night.

Overall rating

4 ticks

Party atmosphere and fantastic service!

  • by Spurti
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 05 Mar 2010
Great stass who were always willing to help in any way! Plus the good prices on meals.