Sorry there is an error, or no hotel found with ID 3750
Sign up to our newsletter and get the latest deals!
Sorry there is an error, or no hotel found with ID 3750
We are currently making some key upgrades, please pop back in a short while. No hotel found with ID: 3750
From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

2.5 ticks

Dislike!

  • by Jennifer
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 03 May 2010
I enjoyed not being around the hostel. I got put in a tiny room with all guys yet I was travelling a single female. The guys had been in the room for a month and it hadn't been cleaned at all in that time. There was food all around the place and therefore cockroaches. I asked to be moved to a different room and even to a room with more beds (I had paid extra to stay in a room with 4 beds rather than 8) but was told that this was not possible by the staff.

Overall rating

5 ticks

T'was great - very nice staff!! + Free dinner!!!

  • by Oliver
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 23 Sep 2009
The staff were fantastic, very helpful in booking tours etc and local knowledge... only problem was the cronic snorer in my room! haha!

Overall rating

4 ticks

my stay at NOMADS Esplanade Backpackers

  • by Nick
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 06 Sep 2009
This hostel is a pretty bog standard hostel. It offers all the basics and is relatively clean, the reception staff are all really friendly and helpful where they can be. The biggest benefit of this hostel however is its prime location, being right on the esplanade and an easy short walk into the centre of Cairns, its very easy to get around.

Overall rating

3 ticks

Very basic but cheap with a great location

  • by anon
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 17 Dec 2008
The hostel was in a prime location, right on the front of the Esplanade. It hasn't got the cleanest of kitchens or bathrooms however it was very cheap and you can over look these things when you step out of the door and are practically in the lagoon.

Overall rating

1.5 ticks

Awful

  • by Sandra
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 08 Oct 2010
Location is the only good thing about the hostel. Staff were rude beyond belief. On arrival at the airport we phoned about the free shuttle service and were told to wait in a particular place at the airport and the driver would be with us in 30 mins. after an hour he stil hadn't shown so we rang again and were told he was on the way. Eventually, over 2 hours after we first phoned someone arrived to pick us up and told us that we were waiting in the wrong place (which is where the girl we spoke to had told us to wait). When we got to the hostel she wasn't in the least bit apologetic about the mess up and was quite rude about it. Other staff weren't as bad but still not great. The room was dirty - some rotting fruit left from the previous occupants. And the kitchen was ridiculous - small, dirty and very little plates/pots/pans etc.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Moderate Scene

  • by Senko
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 06 Oct 2010
Great location

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

experience

  • by Meng
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • Australia
  • 20 Jul 2010
met a lot of friends

Overall rating

3 ticks

günstige Unterkunft

  • by anon
  • male
  • 26 to 35
  • Germany
  • 20 Jan 2010
-

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Great Fun!

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 08 Jan 2010
it's great a experience, you will meet people from all around the world. i had a great fun seating at da courtyard, n drinking wine with people i have never met before.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Budget friendly

  • by anon
  • male
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 13 Dec 2009
It was budget friendly and had a good location, close to the most important places.