Sign up to our newsletter and get the latest deals!

Ritz Backpackers

Looking for friendly handshakes and warm smiles? Head to the Ritz Backpackers Hostel in Jo`burg - you`ll love the party atmosphere, crypt-like bar and sunset braais. Learn more >

All hotels and hostels in: South Africa, Johannesburg

Ritz Backpackers

Best for...

Beds from $22

Ritz Backpackers

Category hostel

Johannesburg,

3.7 out of 5 (21 reviews)

Your thoughts:

  • Overall:

    4 ticks
  • Atmosphere3.5 ticks
  • Friendliness of Staff4.5 ticks
  • Location3.5 ticks
  • Cleanliness4 ticks
  • Facilities3.5 ticks
  • Safety and Security4 ticks
  • Value for Money4 ticks

Book now

Check Availability
e.g. Sep-25-2010

Call 1.800.781.4040

From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

3 ticks

Very large castle with stunning views, but basic accommodation.

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 04 Dec 2008
It was comfortable, but my single room looked like a prison cell and I was expected to shower outside! The staff were lovely, but you had to fight the owner's children for the TV remote. There was no kitchen and I was a little aprehensive about being expected to go out at night for food on my own. At night I heard gun shots and the cleaning staff were extremely noisy in the morning.

Overall rating

3 ticks

Irgendwo in Johannesburg!

  • by Joshua
  • male
  • Under 26
  • Germany
  • 20 Jul 2011
Die Menschen die man dort treffen konnte!

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Abschluss der Reise

  • by Seraina
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Switzerland
  • 01 Mar 2011
Gavin, der Angestellte :) totale Unterhaltung, Freundlich, Zuvorkommend ... hehe

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Comfy, Safe & friendly

  • by Jayde McDonald
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 17 Feb 2011
Safe Area, handy direct connection to Acacia Safaris

Overall rating

4 ticks

Relaxed, helpfull and very friendly

  • by FELICITY
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 19 Jan 2011
The hostel was located at the end of a very quiet street, you can hardly tell its there which makes you feel very comfortable staying in jo'burg. The staff were the most friendly I found along my travels, they made the effort to get to know you and make you feel at home. The facilities and rooms were very comfortable (altho I had been camping for the previous month!) and I would definately stay there again.

Overall rating

3 ticks

One Night im Ritz

  • by Andrea
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Germany
  • 30 Sep 2010
Der Flughafenservice.

Overall rating

2 ticks

Aggressive manager but reasonable facilities

  • by Shona
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • Australia
  • 24 Sep 2010
the ability to do laundry and that evening meals were available

Overall rating

4 ticks

Quiet hideaway in a safer part of town

  • by Madeleine
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 07 Jan 2010
Friendly and helpful staff in a relaxed environment. The area is safe to walk around, though there is not much to see- it is a bit out of the way. This hostel was a great intro to the infamous city of Jo'burg. I will go back when next in Jo'burg.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Review

  • by MARDI
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • Australia
  • 11 May 2009
The best thing is that it was safe and clean. Dunkeld West is too far from the city centre and there isnt much food chocie in the area - particularly on a Sunday night when all is shut

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Safe location and friendly staff

  • by anon
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • Australia
  • 07 May 2009
The hostel was in a safe and secure location but didn't have very much atmosphere. It covered the bare necessities but was very basic.