Sign up to our newsletter and get the latest deals!

Clink 78

A night in the cells? Doesn`t sound that tempting, does it...? But facilities at the recently renovated Clink78 will for sure change your mind! This former 200-year-old Victorian Courthouse is the perfect place from which to explore the City`s bright lights and party the night away in awesome Clashbar! Learn more >

All hotels and hostels in: United Kingdom, London

Clink 78

Best for...

Beds from $28

Clink 78

Category hostel

London,

3.4 out of 5 (52 reviews)

Your thoughts:

  • Overall:

    3.5 ticks
  • Atmosphere3.5 ticks
  • Friendliness of Staff4 ticks
  • Location4 ticks
  • Cleanliness4 ticks
  • Facilities3.5 ticks
  • Safety and Security3.5 ticks
  • Value for Money3.5 ticks

Book now

Check Availability
e.g. Sep-25-2010

Or call 1.800.781.4040

From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Great for groups

  • by First Time Traveler
  • male
  • 36 to 45
  • United States
  • 14 Jun 2011
Cheap but definitely better for groups and young party people.

Overall rating

3 ticks

farbenfrohes Hostel mit guter Underground-Verbindung

  • by Janine
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Germany
  • 01 Mar 2011
Das Hostel liegt ziemlich nahe am Kings-Cross-Bahnhof und daher hat man gute Anbindung zum Nah- und Fernverkehr. Zudem ist eine kleine "Kneipenmeile" ganz in der Nähe. Somit ist das Hostel optimal für Leute, die in London feiern wollen oder sich tagsüber hauptsächlich die Stadt anschauen möchten.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Nothing spectacular but at least its clean

  • by ERIN
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 20 Feb 2011
Clink's biggest advantage is its location-less than 5 minutes from Kings Cross station and within walking distance of many central London attractions. Rooms and common areas are kept clean and tidy, communal showers are tedious to use (water switches off after 30 seconds) so it's worth getting an ensuite room. Breakfast is simple but not bad (toast, cereal and tea/coffee) and towels and clean linen are provided. Biggest problem is lack of internet access. Internet is very expensive, no free wifi and internet lounge was under renovation anyway. Better off going down the street to an internet cafe or using McDonalds wifi. Didn't really have a friendly or welcoming atmosphere but if you just want a place to sleep for a few nights it's pretty decent value.

Overall rating

2.5 ticks

Prison Like!

  • by Dani
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 17 Feb 2011
Free breakfast

Overall rating

3 ticks

Don't stay for more than a day!

  • by UNHAPPY TRAVELLER
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • Australia
  • 17 Feb 2011
Best things were the staff who were friendly and helpful despite the horrible stay I had. As an individual traveller staying for a longer stay I was placed in the basement next to the bar which was open every night until very early in the morning. It made it impossible to sleep for someone battling the flu and jetlag. I infact checked out early and moved into a hotel after they checked in a couple of girls at 3am in the morning. Who can sleep when someone checks in at 3am and then proceeds to turn on the lights and make their bunks!

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Very handy place to stay

  • by Louise
  • female
  • Under 26
  • New Zealand
  • 25 Jan 2011
If you are doing a Topdeck i would recommend as the tour starts and finishs at the Clink so it's handy to stay at. It has everything you need. The rooms are a bit small but they are fine if you are out sightseeing and doing things during the day then it fine.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

"Cheap accommodation - you get what you pay for"

  • by Jed
  • male
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 19 Jan 2011
Price and location

Overall rating

3 ticks

Clean but compact

  • by J-J
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 18 Jan 2011
It was clean. However, the rooms were tiny for the reasonably high price that we were required to pay per room. I stayed there before my trip around Europe and had also booked accommodation at Clink after my trip. However, I was robbed in Amsterdam and had my passport stolen. I therefore couldn't return to London. The staff were entirely unsympathetic and refused to refund any of my money for the 2 nights I had booked. In comparison, staff at the Amsterdam hotel were very friendly and allowed me to stay first and then pay once I had some money. The customer service at Clink clearly needs improvement.

Overall rating

2.5 ticks

clink

  • by Rosemary
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • New Zealand
  • 18 Jan 2011
it's handy because the topdeck tours depart from there, but apart from that it's not great! very cramped and busy. good internet and breakfasts though.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Get out of jail card for LONDON!

  • by SL
  • female
  • Under 26
  • New Zealand
  • 18 Jan 2011
It was very central to everything because it was close to the King's Cross & St. Pancras and the Euston Station which means that it was easy to get around to all the sites.