Sorry there is an error, or no hotel found with ID 3928
Sign up to our newsletter and get the latest deals!
Sorry there is an error, or no hotel found with ID 3928
We are currently making some key upgrades, please pop back in a short while. No hotel found with ID: 3928
From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

2.5 ticks

lumpy bed

  • by MEGAN BETH
  • female
  • 36 to 45
  • United States
  • 12 Jul 2011
The location was great, but the bed was so miserably uncomfortable, that nothing else mattered.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Einfaches Hotel an super Lage in London

  • by Manuela
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • Switzerland
  • 09 Mar 2011
Super Lage in London (gut erreichbar per Subway), direkt beim Kempton Park, Zimmer klein aber gemütlich und ruhig.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Location, Location

  • by WINIFRED
  • female
  • Over 45
  • Australia
  • 04 Nov 2010
The Columbia is very accessable to Tube, Kensington Gardens, Hyde Park, Australian War Memorial, Portabello Road for antiques and to Paddington Station for a direct train to Heathrowe Int. Airport.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

"Mittendrin statt nur dabei"

  • by Marcello Sciavarrello
  • male
  • 36 to 45
  • Switzerland
  • 21 Apr 2010
Lage, Service, Freundlichkeit

Overall rating

3 ticks

"viel grün"

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Austria
  • 11 Jan 2010
Die direkte Lage am hyde park

Overall rating

4 ticks

Convenient location!

  • by Ray
  • male
  • Under 26
  • New Zealand
  • 05 Oct 2009
I thought the hotel was probably about average, but it was very conveniently placed, opposite Hyde Park and close to the Lancaster Gate tube station. Would definitely recommend it for its easy access to everything.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

An adequate way to see London

  • by anon
  • male
  • 36 to 45
  • Australia
  • 05 Oct 2009
Location was the best attribute. Daggy but comfortable. In need of an update.

Overall rating

3 ticks

Good location. Horrible, horrible staff

  • by Richard
  • male
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 02 Oct 2009
The Columbia is located opposite Hyde Park, close to the Lancaster Gate tube and close to the Paddington station (where the Heathrow Connect and Express stop). Brilliant. The room was an excellent size. The decor was horribly outdated, but fine. Surprisingly, some rooms on our floor were smoking. Our room was non smoking, but the smell of smokers can never be entirely removed. It's the staff that ruin it. I found that most were unfriendly, inflexible, lacking in basic customer service skills and ready to blame everyone else for mistakes. On check in, we discovered our room had two singles, while our booking voucher said we had a double. One staff member apologised and said it wasn't their fault, it was STA's, while the other staff member spoke over the top of the first again blaming STA. Other staff were simply unsmiling and abrasive. If you can avoid the staff (a bit hard to do with check in) or don't mind the attitude, then the Columbia is great. We couldn't, and did, so we say it isn't.

Overall rating

4 ticks

Perfect for budget-conscious; for those out all day and just need a clean place to sleep.

  • by OSCAR
  • male
  • 36 to 45
  • Australia
  • 25 Aug 2009
The room is reasonably comfortable and was kept very clean. The location is very convinient - close to trains, buses, shops and restaurants. It is walking distance to groceries (for when travellers want to save on food and buy takeaway) and a pharmacy which was helpful. The hotel is just across the road from Hyde Park, a place of interest in itself. The only drawback was that there is no airconditioning in the rooms and I was there during summer. There apparently were few stand fans available but had to be shared among the many rooms. I didn't get one however as the rooms had high cielings and large windows and I was mostly out during the day anyway, hence the issue was negligible. I would not hesistate to stay at the hotel again the next I'm there.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Great Location - Close enough to everything

  • by Andrew
  • male
  • 36 to 45
  • Australia
  • 04 May 2009
This is a great little hotel. Its only 5 minutes walk from Lancaster Gate tube station which has you to Leister Square, Tottenham Court Rd, Covent Gardens and the Westend Theatre district in minutes. Across the road is Hyde Park and a short walk away from Kensington Palace and Gardens. The rooms are very clean although a little dated but that adds to the charm of the hotel. The breakfast is ok and I would recommend that you splurge out on the cooked breakfast at least once during your stay. The hotel reception staff are very knowledgeable and can get you to where you want to be. I have stayed in hotel that are much more expensive but the Columbia is just as good as any of those. A nice place to stay