Generator Hostel London

Possibly the liveliest, rowdiest, wildest hostel in central London, Generator is renowned for its bar and sits in a huge modern building in one of the most desirable addresses in the capital, close to the British Museum and King`s Cross. Learn more >

All hotels and hostels in: United Kingdom, London

Generator Hostel London

Best for...

Beds from $32

Generator Hostel London

Category hostel

London,

3.6 out of 5 (80 reviews)

Your thoughts:

  • Overall:

    4 ticks
  • Atmosphere4 ticks
  • Friendliness of Staff3.5 ticks
  • Location4 ticks
  • Cleanliness3.5 ticks
  • Facilities3.5 ticks
  • Safety and Security4 ticks
  • Value for Money3.5 ticks

Book now

Check Availability
e.g. Sep-25-2010

Call 1.800.781.4040

From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

4 ticks

Fun, convenient, great atmosphere, very secure... what more could you ask for?

  • by ERW
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 03 Nov 2010
Lots of good things, I loved the Generator. Stayed for 4 nights in a 4-bed female dorm. My other three room-mates all turned out to be from Sydney, so it was fun to meet people and hang out. Had a great night at the Quiz Night - first time I've ever worn tracksuit pants in a bar and had a fantastic night, met lots of great people. Very close to the Underground which was super easy to get around the city on. Very secure - security guards were always present and very nice and helpful. Bathrooms were quite good and regularly cleaned, although some of the toilets didn't flush all the time. I think the worst part was on the last night when a drunk guy urinated on our bedroom door in his stupor. But security were great and they made him clean up his own mess haha!

Overall rating

5 ticks

So much fun!

  • by Kendra
  • female
  • Under 26
  • New Zealand
  • 06 Oct 2010
I was travelling alone, and the Generator made it so easy to be able to meet people. There's a huge common room with free wifi and the Generator Bar is so much fun, they really try to get everyone involved.

Overall rating

5 ticks

cooles Hostel an guter Lage

  • by Esther weishaupt
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Switzerland
  • 02 Oct 2010
die lage und das zimmer

Overall rating

4 ticks

Great location and stress-free stay

  • by Vicki
  • female
  • Under 26
  • New Zealand
  • 24 Sep 2010
Great location - between two tubes stations (including King's Cross which is on a number of lines). Also within walking distance of Oxford St and Hyde Park. Clean facilities and pretty decent breakfast. No problems so pretty sweet place to stay.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Great party atmosphere! Close to Metro Station and train station!

  • by JM
  • male
  • Under 26
  • United States
  • 27 Aug 2010
I had a lot of fun at this hostel which has a great bar and lots of chances to meet other travelers, However it is far from the sights.

Overall rating

4 ticks

Great all-round hostel

  • by VANESSA
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 17 Aug 2010
The nightclub was really fun and a great way to meet people, as well as having much cheaper drinks. It was also a bonus because there really wasnt that many affordable nightclubs, mainly just pubs. They had good areas for people to meet and socialize, wifi was good too. The location was fantastic - only a short walk from russell square station, lots of pubs and bars, cafes and shopping malls. And very close to a fitness first for those gym-junkies. It looks a bit suss from the outside, but inside its fine. The lockers they provide dont actually lock though. Or they didnt in my room, even when you had your own padlock on there. Didnt hear about any theft though. Its a very carefree, chilled place and i really enjoyed my stay there.

Overall rating

4 ticks

Good Hostel, Great Location

  • by Jade
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 16 Aug 2010
Location of the Hostel

Overall rating

4 ticks

perfect place to meet new people

  • by Megan
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 16 Aug 2010
facilities... it has everything you need here. travel desk to find out the best things to do, laundry so i never ran out of clothes good showers and toilets, a lift for my big suitcase, internet access and free wifi. also the free breakfast and walking tour were awesome.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

very good social atmosphere- rooms not great

  • by JOSHUA
  • male
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 16 Aug 2010
very good social atmosphere. facilities were very aqdequate - internet, shop, bar - all convenient breakfast was very good

Overall rating

2 ticks

dodgy, dodgy, dodgy

  • by Tara
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 20 Jul 2010
the dead mouse under my bed.. seriously gross and over priced