Sorry there is an error, or no hotel found with ID 3325
Sign up to our newsletter and get the latest deals!
Sorry there is an error, or no hotel found with ID 3325
We are currently making some key upgrades, please pop back in a short while. No hotel found with ID: 3325
From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

4 ticks

Clean and did the job

  • by anon
  • male
  • 26 to 35
  • Australia
  • 25 Aug 2009
Location of the hostel.

Overall rating

2.5 ticks

Great place for young people to stay and party!

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 25 Aug 2009
The bag security was really bad, a girl who left her bag in the same room as us had it stollen! Also a guy who had not had a booking and just walked off the street managed to get in and use their facilities no questions asked - he did not have a room there. Best thing was we had a bar and facilities available for use. Would not recomend for couples as 6 other people stayed in our room and the first night they were very rowdy and drunk in and out the room all night. Had lilttle if any sleep the night before our contiki tour started. More for backpackers on a budget.

Overall rating

4 ticks

GENERATOR

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 25 Aug 2009
Great hostel to stay at as it was VERY close to Russell Square tube station - literally a quick walk up the road (in the rain with our backpacks haha!). I stayed in a 8-bed hostel room, with a shared bathroom down the hallway. Hostel rooms were comfy, with lockers you were able to padlock shut and the bathrooms were clean with pleanty of hot water :) The free breaky each morning was great value (especially compared to other hostels I have stayed in during my European travels) with lots of different types of cereal and spreads to choose from! However, price was a bit expensive compared to other hostels in the Russell Square area, wish we had done a bit more research into accomodation before we had left and had not booked the first place that was offered to us! Also, it is a MUST to book accomodation at the Generator beforehand - a few months into our trip we were looking for last-minute accomodation in London and the Generator is generally always fully booked out!

Overall rating

4 ticks

Party atmosphere in heart of London

  • by DAVID
  • male
  • 26 to 35
  • Australia
  • 11 May 2009
I touched down in London after 26 hour flight, but found after checking in at the generator in Bloomsbury that it was a very social atmosphere and instantly made several friends from all over the world. I really enjoyed the great facilities including dining hall, internet cafe, not to mention the large bar area. If you're up for meeting new people and having a few social drinks then I would highly recommend the generator, situated minutes from key icons such as British Musuem, Oxford st. All I can say is thank you to my STA Travel agent for recommending it, he was spot on!

Overall rating

1 tick

average backpacker

  • by annette
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 03 May 2009
proximity to central london

Overall rating

3 ticks

Large party hostel

  • by anon
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • Australia
  • 01 May 2009
If you were keen to meet people this is the place to stay, whereas I have stayed in other hostels where the atmosphere was a lot more low key and quiet. There is a busy bar in the hostel which is where people travelling solo tended to go to meet fellow hostelers. The showers are communal showers and weren't very private. Whilst the staff and security tried to keep everyone fairly quiet at night, due to the volume of travellers coming in and out it was quite noisy at times, however if it's a party atmosphere you were after with cheap dinners and drinks this is a good place to stay.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Great location

  • by SARAH
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 01 May 2009
good location and security. However too many beds in each room. but i did like how they had individual curtains

Overall rating

4 ticks

Cannot be looked past for a young travellers

  • by AARON
  • male
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 01 May 2009
Generator Hostel at London was a great experience. Cheap, breakfasts included, awesome atmoshpere, Great bar- very very cheap!, Dinners, internet facilities and clean rooms. I felt very safe there and met a lot of cool people from all over the world. Highly recommended. I would go there again without a doubt!

Overall rating

2 ticks

Didn't really like the Generator hostel. The staff were rude to me and didn't really care about my concerns, but other people found that it was really good...However the location was very handy and getting around london was a breeze!

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 01 May 2009
The location of the hostel was very handy and conviniently located. The atmosphere of london was great! It was just the staff and the cleanliness of the hostel that I had a problem with.

Overall rating

4 ticks

a little dingy but great price, great location

  • by RACHEL
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 01 May 2009
easy access, location, helpful staff