Sign up to our newsletter and get the latest deals!

Base Melbourne

This contemporary red-glass and polished-concrete construction offers its guests cool, funky and - budget! - accommodation. The hostel is just minutes from the beach and the city. Learn more >

All hotels and hostels in: Australia, Melbourne

Base Melbourne

Best for...

Beds from $37

Base Melbourne

Category hostel

Melbourne,

3.9 out of 5 (23 reviews)

Your thoughts:

  • Overall:

    4 ticks
  • Atmosphere4 ticks
  • Friendliness of Staff4 ticks
  • Location4.5 ticks
  • Cleanliness4 ticks
  • Facilities4 ticks
  • Safety and Security4.5 ticks
  • Value for Money4 ticks

Book now

Check Availability
e.g. Sep-25-2010

Or call 1.800.781.4040

From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

4 ticks

party hostel

  • by Tanya
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 30 Jan 2012
Pub inside the hostel was good and they put on games. All rooms ensuite with no communal bathrooms so had to share with 7 other people which was not handy if you are in a rush. Good lounge area.

Overall rating

4 ticks

St Kilda in Spring

  • by Martin
  • male
  • Over 45
  • 23 Jan 2012
Location and secure room.

Overall rating

4 ticks

Great Atmosphere for those travelling

  • by Camila
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 25 Oct 2010
Ariived after long day travelling and greated with free pancakes (Monday Night)! Base is really focused on travellers - different themes in the Red Eye bar each night, really helpful staff, travel bookings available, loads of internet access and not bad price. Room a bit small (private room) but ok for a few nights crashing. Staff fun and enthusiastic. Met some good people.

Overall rating

5 ticks

Good atmosphere and location

  • by Tara
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 02 Oct 2010
The hostel was well located close to the St Kilda beach, in good reach of the cafes and shops and also the tram stop to get trams into central Melbourne. The hostel staff were firendly and approachable. There is a bar underneath which has events nightly and there are also events daily at this hostel. The rooms are a good size, underbed lockers and had a bathroom in the room. The rooms were kept very clean. Excellent hostel :-)

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Party atmosphere in a perfect location

  • by NICOLA
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 09 Sep 2010
I stayed in the all girls dorm which meant extra treats such as shampoo and conditioners, towels and hair straightners included in the price, which wasnt much more than a mixed dorm. Fab!!

Overall rating

2.5 ticks

Great location, disappointing experience

  • by Nicola
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 09 Sep 2010
The location of the hostel was good - nice and close to the beach and shopping area in St Kilda. However, I was disappointed with my stay from the time I arrived to the time I left. I was assigned to a small room that was fully booked and the hassle I has changing rooms was silly considering that the dorm directly opposite was half full. I had been informed that there would be free WiFi at the hostel (a requirement I made clear on booking) - there wasn't (and it was expensive to use). The "luxuries" that came with the sanctuary dorm (e.g. towels, hair dryer) were not available and didn't work for duration of the stay, so in effect I paid more for a normal dorm than other guests. The facilities (e.g. kitchen) provided would have been useful if they were they clean.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Fun hostel in a Bohemian atmosphere!

  • by NADIA
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 30 Apr 2010
It was near the beach and close to trams to the centre of the city

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Summary of Base - Melbourne St Kilda

  • by Ems
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 24 Jan 2010
Ok- Base Melbourne St Kilda was one of the 'less good' Base's I stayed at, and considering that it still somes out as rates 4.1 out of 5 - that shows you just how good Base's are. I define less good as 'not as good as Base in Sydney,' which was run really well, where the staff and Bar Managers meet you personally and gives you free drinks and a warm welcome. What i was looking for in my stay was just a place to meet people who were like me so i could have some good nights out on the lash. Which I did! and for the ladies out there- staying in the Sanctuary was well worth it- for an extra few dollars you get a towel, shampoo & conditioner and a free hour (8-9) of all you can drink champagne... which was amazing. (well it would've been better had the Bar Manager not been so tight and miserable!) Base has some sort of night activities organised every night in their own and is well worth it, espesh if you're the (lazy) type (like me!) that likes to stay local. The only thing about the Base St Kilda that's different to other 'Base's is that normally the Base hostels are in the best locations. Staying in St Kilda was great, the hostel's only 5 mins from the beach and main drag of cafes but if you want to be in downtown Melbourne, you'd be better off in a different hostel, as St Kilda is 20mins from the nightlife of town. The overall difference in general between Base and other Hostels is if you're really up for a party and night out - then Base is defs your hostel. If you're staying at a hostel for value for money, and good cooking equipment in the kitchens, you'll be better off with a YHA... I had a thoroughly good time there and some nights to remember!!

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

clean but not friendly

  • by anon
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 23 Sep 2009
A good hostel to start for cleanliness and facilities, however staff were not friendly or forward in giving information.. If you are just staying for a couple of nights then this would be a good hostel. If longer then I would look for somewhere else!

Overall rating

5 ticks

Great hostel

  • by Kila
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 19 Aug 2009
Really liked that it had a female only part to it, which was decorated well. The facitities were great, plenty of global gossip computers.