Base Melbourne - St Kilda

This contemporary red-glass and polished-concrete construction offers its guests cool, funky and - budget! - accommodation. The hostel is just minutes from the beach and the city. Learn more >

All hotels and hostels in: Australia, Melbourne

Base Melbourne - St Kilda

Best for...

Beds from $37

Base Melbourne - St Kilda

Category hostel

Melbourne,

3.9 out of 5 (23 reviews)

Your thoughts:

  • Overall:

    4 ticks
  • Atmosphere4 ticks
  • Friendliness of Staff4 ticks
  • Location4.5 ticks
  • Cleanliness4 ticks
  • Facilities4 ticks
  • Safety and Security4.5 ticks
  • Value for Money4 ticks

Book now

Check Availability
e.g. Sep-25-2010

Call 1.800.781.4040

From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

4 ticks

Great for beginners but if your 28+ DONT BOTHER!!!

  • by JON
  • male
  • 26 to 35
  • 15 Jul 2009
If your young, with your mates, out for a good time in a safe environment then this is the place for you. This place has everything you will need. Building starting to look a little tired and if you're a veteran traveler then dont bother. You wont find anything of interest. Expensive, bland and St kilda is rather run down... I was the oldest person at 30. Yes i should have know better!

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Great location and perfect start to Melbourne!!

  • by anon
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 27 Mar 2009
Good party vibe, easy to meet people, great location in a great area. Easy accessible to the city!

Overall rating

3 ticks

Base Melbourne

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 13 Jan 2009
I only stayed here as I was told it was the only pick up point for the Adventure Tours Australia tours, I found it quite out of the way from the centre of Melbourne as the trams take about 20 mins and cost for taxis were quite a bit if you missed the last tram back to St Kilda from the city. Found out that the tours do pick ups from YHA which is a much nicer hostel and more central to the city. Great location if you want to stay in St Kilda as shops only a few minutes walk away. This Base is more for the younger party crowd.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Chilled out atmosphere in good location

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 17 Dec 2008
Good location in St Kilda, staff were freindly and was a tour booking place there which was really handy. Rooms were clean and modern. Given free drinks voucher on arrival.

Overall rating

5 ticks

Chilled and comfortable

  • by anon
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 04 Dec 2008
Five minute walk to the beach, St Kilda itself was a really cool area. Lots going on in the hostel. Free BBQ!

Overall rating

4 ticks

Base Melbourne - St. Kilda, Melbourne

  • by David Oliver
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 04 Dec 2008
THis hostel is a hostel by day and a nightclub at night. If yo want to party all the time then it is good and is right on the beach but the basic facilities such as kitchen, lounge and washing machines were closed at midnight and if you have a large dorm ie. 10man it is still on bathroom )no comunal facilites, which is good for less than 5 dorm in my experience. But it is the cleanest hostel you could go to, rivals a hospital.

Overall rating

4 ticks

Good socialable hostel!

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 04 Dec 2008
Location of hostel is excellent!

Overall rating

4 ticks

Trying to sleep in a bar

  • by CHARLOTTE ANNE
  • female
  • Under 26
  • United States
  • 05 Oct 2011
The staff and guests were really friendly. There were lots of people traveling by themselves as well as in groups. It was very loud at night though, so if you value sleep at all, or are getting over jetlag, you probably want to look for a quieter hostel. I was woken up about 5 times a night by the other people in my room stumbling in drunk. The bar downstairs was great for meeting other travelers though.

Overall rating

5 ticks

Sauberes und modernes Party Backpacker!

  • by Patricia
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Switzerland
  • 05 Mar 2011
Das Base Backpacker war sehr sauber. Es ist schön und modern eingerichtet. Es hat eine gute Lage in der Nähe vom Strand und auch nicht zu weit weg von Stadtzentrum. Es hat jeden Tag super Partys im Club im gleichen Gebäude. Es hat mir wirklich sehr gut gefallen und ich kann es nur weiterempfehlen.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Saubere und moderne Unterkunft; super Events und Partymöglichkeiten

  • by Dennis
  • male
  • 26 to 35
  • Germany
  • 28 Jul 2010
tolle Bar, sehr freundliches Personal, abwechselungsreiche Event- und Abendplanung.