Base Queenstown Hostel

Top quality backpacker accommodation right in the Heart of Queenstown, a few minutes walk to the lake, bus station and main street. Surrounded by 3 mountain ranges and sitting on the edge of a magnifiscent lake, this has to be once of the most picturesque backpacker`s in the world. Learn more >

All hotels and hostels in: New Zealand, Queenstown

Base Queenstown Hostel

Best for...

Beds from $24

Base Queenstown Hostel

Category hostel

Queenstown,

4.3 out of 5 (12 reviews)

Your thoughts:

  • Overall:

    4.5 ticks
  • Atmosphere4 ticks
  • Friendliness of Staff4 ticks
  • Location5 ticks
  • Cleanliness4.5 ticks
  • Facilities4.5 ticks
  • Safety and Security4.5 ticks
  • Value for Money4.5 ticks

Book now

Check Availability
e.g. Sep-25-2010

Call 1.800.781.4040

From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Great place to be based for a few days or months

  • by Sarah
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 22 Nov 2009
Travelling alone this was a great place to stay with lots of opportunity to meet other people. Fantastic location with all the facilities you could need even if not brand new. Staff were really helpful with booking accomodation elsewhere and helping with general enquiries

Overall rating

4 ticks

Central location

  • by anon
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 14 Jan 2009
Central location

Overall rating

4 ticks

Perfect place to spend Christmas!

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 08 Jan 2009
It seemed to be the only hostel putting on something for christmas day. It had a really good atmosphere and had everything you need. The travel desk is really helpful.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Great facilities but very large and a little clinical, good for groups, great value for money

  • by Simon
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 04 Dec 2008
The location and price were awesome.

Overall rating

5 ticks

Best Hostel in New Zealand...

  • by Aaron Payne
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 05 Feb 2011
Out of all the hostels i stayed in, this was one of the best, i arrived in the middle of the day with my kiwi bus and managed to get a room with all my mate (306 best room going) awesome views onto the mountains and what i guess you can class as the strip, balcony was over the communual area where everyone hangs catching the rays during the day! altitude bar was awesome and once that was done it was the standard to head to the famous world bar!! then of course pig out on a legenedary ferg burger!! overall id say if you go to queenstown and want to be amongst it all, there is no other option than base!! also the £2 meals everyday are a bargain - lamb shank with mash is a massive home comfort..

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

A strategic place with awesome people

  • by Yen Leng Lee
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 07 Jan 2010
Great friendly staff. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Located in the heart of Queenstown, there is no better place to stay than Base Queenstown. The travel team helped me with all my activity bookings and I got a good deal for the Shotover Jet (free photos!) and awesome recommendation by the team to do the gondola+dinner+haka show - absolutely splendid! The people staying in the hostel are a good bunch and easy to mingle. Internet facility is good and the bar area is fabulous! I highly recommend anyone who wants to have loads of fun yet having a feasible place to stay in Queenstown

Overall rating

5 ticks

Central to where it's at in Queenstown

  • by CLAUDIA Eloise
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 09 Dec 2009
Truly amazing scenery from our room on 3rd floor - the whole panorama of the snow-capped Remarkables in November; a few minutes walk to everything; ready access to internet; no frills; no pretensions; accommodating staff.

Overall rating

5 ticks

BEST ADVENTURE TOUR IN NEW ZEALAND

  • by Andrew Turns
  • 25 Nov 2009

STA Staff review
Staff review

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Great rooms, fantastic location!

  • by LAUREN
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 23 Sep 2009
The single rooms were very spacious with lcd screens and balconies and the dorms had all the necessities with clean shared bathrooms and toilets. Lots of internet access and the Altitude Bar downstairs is a great party atmosphere with competitions every night of the week. Maybe you can win that Skydive in the karaoke competition that I didn't! Base is located 1 block from the ski centre where buses are able to be caught to various ski resorts and rental equipment is able to be organised. It is also centrally located and walking distance to most bars, scenery and places to book activities such as bungee, luge, shotover jet etc. So central no need for cars once you get there unless you want to drive to the mountains.

Overall rating

4 ticks

Queenstown rocks the base

  • by anon
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 19 Aug 2009
Good place if your with a group of mates and can get a dorm together. Comfortable and clean, with cleaners daily for kitchen and toilets. Shame that communal areas shut early but is a standard feature of most hostels. Altitude bar is sweet as place to have some drinks and always has something going on every night. Standard NZ prices though happy hr is worth going to.