Sorry there is an error, or no hotel found with ID 1640
Sorry there is an error, or no hotel found with ID 1640
We are currently making some key upgrades, please pop back in a short while. No hotel found with ID: 1640
From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

4 ticks

Friendly, clean and tidy place

  • by anon
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 03 Apr 2009
The Friendlyness of the staff,

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

beautiful place

  • by anon
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 31 Mar 2009
the private rooms were like staying in a really nice hotel

Overall rating

5 ticks

Generally good

  • by Ruth
  • female
  • Over 45
  • 04 Jan 2009
People chilling out during the daytime, sleeping on sofas, in front of TVs, by the pool, made the place feel very relaxed and welcoming. Breakfast (not included) was excellent. I was slightly put off because I had to wait till 5 pm for my room to be cleaned on my first night. However, the generally relaxed, welcoming atmosphere made up for that. Good range of choice in the book exchange, and competent arrangements for sharing taxi to the airport at the end of my stay.

Overall rating

4 ticks

location

  • by Priya Patel
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 05 Dec 2008
the hostel is huge so you have a lot of room as some of these hostels can be really small and crowded, the atmosphere was ok but as it so large people are everywhere rather than in one place. the swimming pool was cool, but needed more computers for internet for the size of the hostel. rooms were big which was great but not enough room to lock your belongings away. overall impression good.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Homey atmosphere is great location

  • by HEATHER
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 18 Jan 2011
Good location - right in the heart of Santiago and walking distance to everywhere in the city English speaking staff that helped with taxis Internet access - wireless and computers avaliable Breakfast included - got scrambled eggs Clean showers Cute atmosphere - different colored walls, floorboards, lots of different lounge areas, nice outdoor area

Overall rating

4 ticks

Seeing red

  • by ANDREW
  • male
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 05 Oct 2010
The actual house is amazing in terms of facilities and some of the staff are really helpful. However Susi in house travel agent was astoundingly unhelpful. Not only would she not help you, she would get you to help her. Her answer to everything was "check the internet". She was happy to book and take the commission on any purchase for which you had all the details and could do yourself at no extra cost. Her employment must be some sort of welfare initiative. I would strongly recommend La Casa Roja as one of the most interesting and dynamic hostels in South America, so long as you do not interact with Susi at all!

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Well oiled machine

  • by Suzanne
  • female
  • Over 45
  • New Zealand
  • 09 Jun 2010
Great kitchen, plenty of places to chill

Overall rating

5 ticks

Great place to party in the Chilean capital

  • by JOSHUA P
  • male
  • Under 26
  • New Zealand
  • 07 Jan 2010
La casa roja has an amazing party atmosphere, fellow backpackers all combine together for various activities and fun times. La casa roja is close to the metro station so there is no problem to get around Santiago. At night time the bar gets pumping, and often goes until 9am! Friendly staff always willing to give helpful advice. I would recommend La casa roja to anyone passing through South America and those looking for a fun time.

Overall rating

4 ticks

Huge house, crazy parties

  • by AMANDA
  • female
  • Under 26
  • New Zealand
  • 25 Aug 2009
lots of friendly fellow travelers to hang out with.