USA Hostels San Francisco

Get the most out of your buck and head to the USA Hostels in San Francisco...! A bed here is cheap by anyone`s standards. It`s in an awesome location. And the amenities aren`t bad either...! Learn more >

All hotels and hostels in: United States, San Francisco

USA Hostels San Francisco

Best for...

Beds from $37

USA Hostels San Francisco

Category hostel

San Francisco,

4.5 out of 5 (27 reviews)

Your thoughts:

  • Overall:

    4.5 ticks
  • Atmosphere4.5 ticks
  • Friendliness of Staff5 ticks
  • Location5 ticks
  • Cleanliness4.5 ticks
  • Facilities4.5 ticks
  • Safety and Security5 ticks
  • Value for Money4.5 ticks

Book now

Check Availability
e.g. Sep-25-2010

Call 1.800.781.4040

From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

5 ticks

mmm, pancakes!

  • by Anne
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 08 Sep 2010
Great location, helpful staff - lots of activities.

Overall rating

5 ticks

USA hostel

  • by Debbie
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 08 Sep 2010
very clean hostel, and very friendly. A great place to chill.

Overall rating

5 ticks

Good times

  • by Zahara
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 21 Nov 2009
The hostel staff were informative and friendly. there are some really good cheap mealsthey offer some nights and they have parties nsaturday nights. Overall a really enjoyable experience.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Nice hostel in a good location

  • by EIRIN
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 30 Oct 2009
Despite being very busy the hostel seemed clean and organised, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall rating

5 ticks

Ideal hostel

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 16 Jul 2009
Although it may seem over enthusiastic to give all aspects of USA Hostel, San Francisco ratings of 5 out of 5, I believe they are all well deserved. Upon arrival the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They fully explained how to check in/out, and provided duplicate keys, bedding, hostel information sheets and maps. We were even assisted with our luggage. The hostel is located a very short walk away from Union Square, with a convenience store opposite and various restaurants and bars along the same street. Inside the hostel you can find boards packed full of information e.g. hostel group outings, walking/tram/bus times and directions to particular sites, staff recommendations and advice on how to get to the nearest pharmacy or post office for example. This made getting around the city very easy and allowed us to plan our days out constructively. Staff would come by every morning to empty the bins in the room, hoover the floor and clean the sink. Bathroom facilities were kept very clean and there were plenty throughout the hostel to go around - either toilets and showers combined or seperate. Located in the basement is a very large kitchen in which there are several stoves and fridges for your own food. This would be cleaned thouroughly every morning after the free pancakes cooking session. In addition to the kitchen, you can also find a computer room (with easy access to the internet for a very small fee), a library room (where travellers often sat with a bottle of wine and their laptops), a laundry room and theatre (in which evening entertainment took place e.g. Wi games, film night, karaoke). We were made to feel very welcome to use any and all of these facilities and learnt that USA hostel has a real sense of community, making it very easy to meet new people. The hostel was on the ball with security and safety. The front door would be locked after 10pm I think, and access would only be permitted with your swipe card key. Once inside reception you would show staff your key and they would then allow you access to the rest of the hostel. Inside the rooms there are lockers in which you can find additional electricity outlets and store valuable goods - remember to bring your own padlock and key though! With all of these positives, I don't think I have a quarm with the hostel rates. We were very happy here and only wish that USA Hostels were located New York as well!

Overall rating

5 ticks

Could not be a better location

  • by Andrew
  • male
  • 36 to 45
  • 15 Jul 2009
Perfect hostel - you're ten minutes walk from Union Square and the cable cars and shops, you can walk to Chinatown in fifteen. The TV room is a cinema, with proper flip up chairs, there's always some activity to get stuck into, but if you want to do your own thing, that's fine too. I heartily recommend the Gold Coast Lounge just off union square as a bar too, a ten minute walk and the best Dixie music you'll hear, singing along heartily encouraged. Great, great hostel.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Nice hostel in good location

  • by Stacey
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 05 Dec 2008
Good location and nice staff

Overall rating

4 ticks

Free Pancake breakfast!

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 04 Dec 2008
Free pancake breakfast, secure luggage before and after check in/out, internet facilities, Huge cinema screen TV, organised trips etc

Overall rating

5 ticks

Great place

  • by Michael
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 15 Sep 2011
Friendly staff, made us feel safe and welcome for our first travel in America. Rooms were clean! Great value for money. will be staying here next time i go!

Overall rating

5 ticks

Great hostel: friendly, clean and good condition. Good but quiet location.

  • by Mat
  • male
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 20 Jul 2011
The free pancakes in the morning were great. Good bathroom-to-guest ratio. Rooms are clean and spactious. Always lots of events available. Good to chillout too.