Base Sydney

Base Sydney is where all the big "Down Under" adventures begin. Open 24 hours with a cosmopolitan buzz, Base Sydney is the perfect place to stay in the heart of the city. Learn more >

All hotels and hostels in: Australia, Sydney

Base Sydney

Best for...

Beds from $30

Base Sydney

Category hostel

Sydney,

3.9 out of 5 (41 reviews)

Your thoughts:

  • Overall:

    4 ticks
  • Atmosphere4 ticks
  • Friendliness of Staff4 ticks
  • Location5 ticks
  • Cleanliness4 ticks
  • Facilities4 ticks
  • Safety and Security4 ticks
  • Value for Money4 ticks

Book now

Check Availability
e.g. Sep-25-2010

Call 1.800.781.4040

From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Clean, safe and barrels of fun!

  • by Rebecca
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 17 Mar 2012
- Location - The Scary Canary Bar next door - great deals, great music! - Very clean and safe - Excellent information desk offering info and deals on tours etc

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Okay place but great location

  • by Katie
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 30 Jan 2012
Location! Just 5 mins walk to Darling Harbour one way, chinatown another way and nice cafes round the corners. Free table football!

Overall rating

5 ticks

this is my opinion on base x sydney, i was very pleased with the facilities the staff were very helpfull an it was very secure and in a gud location.

  • by Bethan
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 24 Jan 2012
the security key cards were very good they made me feel safe, an the staff were very friendly and helpfull

Overall rating

4 ticks

Great place, great location

  • by Anna
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 26 Oct 2010
The location - it's pretty much the centre and is a walk away from the opera house, harbour bridge, Botannic Gardens etc. Although it wasn't perfect in terms of cleanliness or facilities it was still great. There was a great bar next door called 'Scary Canary' which was really good!

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Buzzing hostel, excellent location and friendly staff

  • by Tanya
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 20 Oct 2010
Absolutly heaving place with people comming and going all the time! Located in a really convenient location not far from most of the main Sydney attractions. Staff were really friendly, we asked them several times for the nearest ... and were directed to the nearest and cheapest places. Communal shower rooms were perfectly large enough to accomodate the whole floor, with a large mirror and sockets, 4 showers and 4 toilets. There was a male and female bathroom so this would be x2 for the floor.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Goon o'clock

  • by Matthew T
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 19 May 2010
Meeting a great group of people in my dormitory, the extremely helpful staff and the constant entertainment put on by Scary Canary the hostel bar.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

Fantastic location with heaps of freebies!

  • by CATHERINE
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 30 Apr 2010
We stayed at base on our first few nights in australia. It was a great mix of quiet, for our first jetlagged night, and party for all the subsequent nights.

Overall rating

4.5 ticks

perfect location close to everything! safe, clean and friendly!

  • by Jade
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 25 Jan 2010
The rooms where a very good size , cleaned daily (altho the cleaners where always in at the crack of dawn) Nice bathrooms and cleaned daily! Everything about my stay was enjoyable. I felt safe and my things were safe in the rooms too! They had loads of events every night! good fun! There was only downside was the kitchen wasnt great, one of the toasters didnt work and it only had a small number of rings to cook on! other than that i reali enjoyed my stay in Sidney!

Overall rating

5 ticks

Winter trip to Sydney - just like an English summer really!!!

  • by Elizabeth
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 22 Sep 2009
Staff were excellent, and I got to meet some great people in my dorm. Best of all we managed to get a free bottle of bubbly on the first night...always good :o)

Overall rating

3 ticks

Base Backpackers

  • by anon
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • 22 Sep 2009
Great central location