Base Sydney

Base Sydney is where all the big "Down Under" adventures begin. Open 24 hours with a cosmopolitan buzz, Base Sydney is the perfect place to stay in the heart of the city. Learn more >

All hotels and hostels in: Australia, Sydney

Base Sydney

Best for...

Beds from $30

Base Sydney

Category hostel

Sydney,

3.9 out of 5 (41 reviews)

Your thoughts:

  • Overall:

    4 ticks
  • Atmosphere4 ticks
  • Friendliness of Staff4 ticks
  • Location5 ticks
  • Cleanliness4 ticks
  • Facilities4 ticks
  • Safety and Security4 ticks
  • Value for Money4 ticks

Book now

Check Availability
e.g. Sep-25-2010

Call 1.800.781.4040

From UK first:
    Sort by::
  • Reviewers age
  • User rating
  • Date

Overall rating

2.5 ticks

Good Hostel, The WORST night staff I have come across

  • by anon
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 18 May 2009
This was a great hostel tp stay at top meet people. Up until being shown complete contempt by the night manager who held my passport to rnasom on the final night I had really enjoyed Base. I have subsequently submitted a complaint to Base and am interested to see their response.

Overall rating

4 ticks

Perfect Lacation

  • by CHRIS
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 30 Mar 2009
The $10 meals the lacation and the bar next door

Overall rating

4 ticks

Good location, v.helpful staff!!!

  • by anon
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 16 Feb 2009
The canary bar attached is gr8 value for money and has some good theme nights etc.!! The communal areas are really nice to chill out in, watch tv, internet access etc. Rooms are quite shoebox like and basic but ok just to sleep in!!

Overall rating

5 ticks

A lively atmoshere, in the Heart of Sydney.

  • by Debbie
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 07 Dec 2008
The hostel was in the Heart of Sydney, with walking distance to the shops, Darling Harbour and the main train station. The staff were great, and it was excellent value for money. I stayed in the Sanctuary which is for girls only. I would recommend this for single girl travellers. There was a great lively bar which had very cheap meals and drink offers. There was an internet room and film room if you just wanted to chillax. The best thing about it were the other travellers, they were so friendly and talked to you at any possible chance even in the lift.

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Base Backpackers

  • by anon
  • male
  • Under 26
  • 04 Dec 2008
The location of Base is great so easy to get to the Harbour Bridge and Opera House. Good crowd which caters for those who want to work and/or party...

Overall rating

5 ticks

Great place to explore Sydney from!

  • by Jane
  • female
  • Under 26
  • 04 Dec 2008
Good facilities and security

Overall rating

3.5 ticks

Super zentrale Lage

  • by Nicole
  • female
  • 26 to 35
  • Germany
  • 19 Jul 2011
Eine wirklich sehr zentrale Lage, in nur 10 Minuten ist man zu Fuß an der Oper!!

Overall rating

5 ticks

Such a good hostel - Clean, friendly, awesome location!

  • by Jayne
  • female
  • Under 26
  • United States
  • 28 Jun 2011
This hostel is in such a good location, really easy to find. As we were there on a friday we managed to go on their free walk from bondi to bronte and they provided a BBQ at the end! Such an easy way to see more of the surrounding area without spending a penny, also meant we made some new friends because of it. Go to Paddys Market for bargains :D

Overall rating

4 ticks

Easy-going and chill

  • by Lauren
  • female
  • Under 26
  • Australia
  • 19 Jan 2011
In general, I've always had good experiences with Base. The staff is great and very helpful, the rooms are clean and roomy, and they make the stay enjoyable. The price is very reasonable which is always a plus. At Base Sydney, we stayed in the Women's Sanctuary which was fabulous. It's so nice being provided with a towel when traveling. It also feels even safer being behind another locked door, but the whole place felt secure.

Overall rating

2.5 ticks

Cheap Accomodation - you get what you pay for.

  • by Charlotte
  • female
  • Under 26
  • New Zealand
  • 06 Oct 2010
If all you are looking for is a cheap bed for the night then this is for you, but if you want something with some comfort then stay away.