Secure Flight

In October of 2008 the U.S Department of Homeland Security announced the final rule for a program called Secure Flight.

Secure Flight is designed to enhance the current security of domestic and international air travel through the use of improved government watch list matching.

Secure Flight will become effective in 2 phases:

  • Phase I includes flights between 2 domestic points in the United States.
  • Phase II includes flights overflying the continental United States, covered flights to/from the United States, and all other flights (such as international point-to-point flights) operated by U.S. aircraft operators not included in Phase I.

Upon full implementation of Secure Flight, each passenger will be required to provide the following information:

  • Full name (as shown on state or government issued ID documents such as a State ID Card, Drivers License or Passport)
  • Date of Birth
  • Gender
  • Redress number (if available)
  • Known traveler number (program has not yet been defined)

In order to issue a boarding pass, Airlines must transmit the aforementioned data to the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) 72 hours prior to flight departure for vetting. In the event a reservation is created within 72 hours of departure, traveler information must be provided immediately.

Airline operators will not be able to print boarding passes for passengers until Secure Flight completes the comparison of passenger information.

Like it? Share it. . .

  • Twitter
  • Share on Google+ G+
  • Instagram Instagram